Apricots

cake-and-cherriesMarket is now full of early summer fruit.  A couple of weeks ago there were  just strawberries and unripe plums, with a few cherries and apricots at ridiculous prices.  Now the market is full of strawberries, plums, cherries, apricots, melon and watermelon.  There are some peaches but these are not really anywhere near their best this early.

Cherry season does not last very long, and apricots have a very short season so we are making the most of them whilst they are plentiful and cheap.  We have not got around to preparing cherries in any way.  They simply get eaten.

Breakfast apricots and yogurt

Put a tablespoon of Suzme yogurt in a breakfast bowl. Top with chopped apricots (3 is about right depending on size).  Top with regular yogurt, we use sheep yogurt.  Drizzle with honey.  Eat.

Then there is the cake

This is a Turkish recipe so quantities come in glasses.  A water glass contains pretty much the same volume as a UK mug for coffee or tea.  A tea glass is half of that.  The oven should be at 170 degrees centigrade by the time you’ve finished mixing.

Chop up your fruit (removing any stones and inedible bits).  The original recipe said 6 peaches but I don’t think you could fit that in a sensibly sized cake tin.  I use what I have.  This one was about 8 apricots.  I’ve used apricots, peaches, plums and pears in various combinations and all of them have worked fine.

Whisk 4 eggs with a water glass of sugar.  We don’t get caster sugar here so I use the equivalent of granulated.  I also use the whisk attachment on my hand blender  but it’s not a very powerful one.  Whisk it till it looks like snow.  Put in a water glass of ordinary yoghurt, a couple of spoonfuls of really thick yoghurt and a tea glass of light olive oil.  Mix it a bit (not too much though I often use the electric mixer for a few seconds to get it all blended in, you don’t want to lose the air you whisked in originally).  Stir in two water glasses of flour with a sachet of baking powder and a sachet of vanilla sugar.  Just mix it so there’s no lumps of flour (again, I sometimes use the electric whisk, but carefully and not very much- this is the point at which I tend to get it down my t-shirt).  Then lightly stir in the prepared fruit.

This goes into a prepared cake tin,  it is a very soft mixture so I pour it  – I use a silicone ring mould which is brilliant as it doesn’t stick.  Recipe says 45 minutes.  But test it.  My oven always takes longer.

18 responses to “Apricots

  1. Those cherries look so beautiful!

  2. Looks delicious, we only imported fruit at the moment ( in the UK), still waiting for our fresh fruit to apprear.

    ________________________________

    • Nearly all the fruit here is local – we avoid the imported stuff. We hear spring was very late this year in the UK. And it always was an effort to get fresh, locally produced fruit and vegetables.

  3. I have really enjoyed this site, but to tell you the truth I have been looking at sites like yours to get some  information on what it’s like to live in the Izmir area. I don’t want to detract from the blog, or intrude on everyone, but I would be really grateful if anyone had any opinions and advise on life there. I have visiting for many, many years, speak reasonable Turkish, have a property in Izmir and Cesme and thinking of taking early retirement. I’ve loved being a visitor in Turkjey, but living there feels daunting and I’m sure would be very different. There is one imoprortant question I am looking to have answered:  How much do you need for a reasonable life style?    Please acceot my thanks in advance – I will continue to read the blog.   Gale  

    ________________________________

    • Hi Gale. It very much depends on how you want to live. If you want bacon, HP sauce and other imported foods, if you want to run a vehicle, if you want imported wine, these things are expensive. Electricity and gas is about the same as UK, Gazprom sets the price. Local booze is rising in price, but all governments tax booze, cigs and petrol. Everything else is inexpensive.
      There are many different answers, many different views, and of course many different views on what counts as a reasonable life style. You may want to poke around some of the fora for more on living costs, there are links from here.
      We manage very well on a fraction of what we had in the UK and consider the Izmir area as an excellent place to live.

    • Thanks for your response. I was wondering if £ 800-1000 would give me a comfortable life. Eat and shop locally, travel with local transport arounf Izmir and across Turkey. Be able to aford to come back to the UK once a year. I don’t have any expensive hobbies and could always teach English to earn some pin money.

      • We think you should research the teaching. Most schools expect a TEFL qualification (which, of course, you may have) and working for yourself without a permit is always a risk. Whilst we find that living here is a great deal cheaper than in the UK, there are additional expenses (like health insurance – we’re on the GSS – a state run scheme but that costs the same for a single person as it does for a couple). So much depends upon the lifestyle you want and, of course, many people locally exist on far less than that. Also there is inflation to take into account… A fixed income will be worth less and less as time goes by.

  4. I’m glad you have success with your round silicon cake mould. I have a muffin one and can never get the cakes out. I wipe it with olive oil- what am I doing wrong?

    • I have used two silicon moulds. One is the light blue one from Ikea and the other is the ring mould which I got from ebay. I just oil them lightly with olive oil and keep them on an old baking tray until I turn them out. The cake turns out easily. I sort of turn the mould inside out… This cake used to stick horribly in the non stick ring mould.
      I also have some purple muffin/cup case silicon moulds I bought in Selcuk but I haven’t tried them yet. They seem to be of a stiffer silicon and perhaps that makes the difference.

  5. Oh! Suzme yogurt and other things – sod it! Just have to take extra pills and potions

  6. I had the wonderful apricot jam in izmir last year. Using cups and glasses to measure sounds so much easier than the scales.

    • I have scales too. I never had scales in the UK but I would measure a packet of butter by eye. The packets are a different size and shape here and my eye doesn’t work with them!

  7. I love using suzme yogurt in my cakes too! Looks delicious! And using cay glasses for measuring cups like a typical Turkish housewife. 😉

  8. Does anyone know the English name for the dried crushed berries Turkish people call Sumak?

    • We used to buy sumak in the UK. I don’t think there is an English name for them but we found it in many Turkish and middle eastern run corner shops.

Leave a Reply

