One Year On

One year on.  50 followers (includes us and both our mothers).  170 posts.  Just over 10,000 views.

Not a great deal by blogging standards but far more than we expected when we started this blog one year ago today.  We started this as a way of keeping in touch with friends and family in the UK, Ireland, Canada, the USA and further afield, and in the hope that it would help us make new friends here in Turkey.  We started it as a way of recording our experiences as we forged a new way of life for ourselves.

Several friends from our old life keep in touch via the blog.  We have met people here through this medium – one or two face to face and many more through cyberspace.  Cyberspace friendships are not new to us – we have friends on six continents and probably would have friends in Antarctica were it inhabited.

We try to make the blog useful, we’ve catalogued our experiences with bureaucracy here in Turkey (and the hit statistics show that this does interest many people) though, I think, most hits are for the food and the travel.  We are, however, far from writing an instruction manual on how to live in Turkey, a full on travelogue or a recipe book.  There is no way we are going to get a book out of this blog.  But that was never the intention.

Perhaps, if we were more focussed, we would get more hits, but we didn’t start this blog for focus…

We think we have got a better readership than we deserve so thanks to everyone who reads this blog and follows it.

14 responses to “One Year On

  1. Well done on hitting the one year mark. I think you feel much the same way about your blog as I do mine…even though they are very different. Mine was mostly for me. To record my daily life, and I never imagined I would get so many followers either! Your blog has indeed been very useful as far as bureaucracy in Turkey is concerned. You give very clear, concise, step by step instructions. Just the sort of thing I would have loved to have had when I moved here many years ago. Keep up the good work!

  2. . . settle for the reasons you started with and enjoy whatever comes down the road.

  3. Delighted to find your blog- every bit of news to get from home is precious and I appreciate seeing from other’s perspectives – congratulations on your 1st year mark, here’s to many more years to come!;)

    • Thank you. We try not to insulate ourselves from Turkish culture and I think we learn new things every day. I am sure we have a lifetime or two of learning still to come.

  4. Tebrikler! I know how it as I just celebrated my 2-year anniversary of living in Istanbul just yesterday. TIme flies by so fast! So many people are interested in Turkey lately so keep writing and sharing your stories. 😉

    • Thank you. We love Istanbul (we were last there in March, buying a motorbike and it snowed). Sometimes we think it might be easier to be living in a big city (we’ve both lived in cities most of our lives) but we guess the challenges are just different.

  5. I enjoy reading your blog very much. Here’s to the next 12 months

  6. Hi, you do not have me on the subscription list and I have been absent due to some tech diff, but I am back to enjoying your writing as earlier. Congrats, I have three more months to go to reach my 1 year mark.

Leave a Reply

