Talking the talk

Today we went to Kuşadası to sort ourselves out some Turkish lessons.  We start tomorrow.  We’ll be learning separately as Hilary did four years’ evening classes and Ashley did not.  Hilary will be revising her grammar then concentrate on speaking and listening.  Ashley will be learning some basic grammar then practicing everyday speaking and listening.

We think the price is very reasonable for private lessons, even though we have to add on the cost of travel to and from Kuşadası

On the way to Kuşadası our dolmus (and the one ahead of it) were stopped by the traffic police.  Everyone was asked for their ID.  It was a good test of our language skills.  Everyone’s ID except ours and that of the lady sitting next to us, were taken off and examined in a police car.  We got chatting to the lady sitting next to us who is French, but lives in Cologne.  It was very weird chatting in French because half the time the Turkish words were coming to mind (rather than either the French or the English).

After about ten minutes the IDs were returned and handed out by one of the passengers and we were on our way once more.

6 responses to “Talking the talk

  1. In all my years here I hadn’t experienced the jandarma check until we moved to Milas area. Now almost every time I bus over to Bodrum we are stopped.

    It’s funny how you think you haven’t quite grasped the Turkish language and then something happens and you use Turkish words without thinking. My most embarrassing moment was on a trip to England when I said tesekkur ederim to a shop assistant.

    • We were stopped in Pamucak, opposite the place where they had the camel wrestling.

      Last time we were in the UK, I was not only thanking people in Turkish but finding it difficult to enter anyone’s home whilst wearing my shoes.

  2. Quite a challenge learning Turkish…I wish you success….

    • It will be interesting. Yesterday evening in preparation for today I (Ashley) started writing down all the Turkish words I know. It surprised me I knew so many. The problem is making them into anything meaningful and understanding what is being said to me. This along with broadening the vocabulary is what I am going to try to do.,

      Hilary has a great deal more Turkish than me, I think for her it is about speaking and confidence.

  3. Hi, this post is just in time. Last weekend, after 4 1/2 months in Turkey, I finally signed up for beginner classes. Not that I didn’t want to do it earlier, but the schools of my choice did not offer any weekend classes at that time and I just cannot do weekdays due to work. Although I wish I could just quit and spend the next few months everyday in a a class room. And this is the thing I find so exciting. After a loooong time my brain will start learning again and I will add a fourth language to my list 🙂

    • I (Hilary) wish I spoke more languages. My French was good once, but appears to be rusty. We couldn’t find classes but our teacher comes highly recommended. We hope you enjoy the classes.

Leave a Reply

