Dreams do not have to end

We are heading back to the UK and Ireland soon, a brief visit to the damp cold of northwest Europe.  There are a few reasons for this trip, to see family and friends, go to Gaelcon, and to organise to meet the shippers to get our stuff brought over from Big Yellow in Hanger Lane.  There is also the matter of getting rid of something important to me, one of the few things I really did not want to lose and hoped to be able to bring to Turkey, sadly it is proving not to be possible.  So the Harley must go.

It is sad, the bike means a lot to me.  I got it after I had been very ill for a long time, was recovering from the illness and had stopped smoking.   Being really ill made me realise there was more to life than work, and probably more importantly that a dream is only a dream until it is fulfilled.  I had always had bikes, but never had a Harley before, so when my health was recovering, had got some strength back, no longer weighed around 7 stone, I decided that I was going to get one.

We have had some great times (and some very  wet times) on the bike.  Trips around the UK, and two long road trips, the first to Greece and the second to Turkey.  Both were utterly fantastic.  The Harley has been so much fun but it is time to let it go, so in a week or so I’ll be taking it to Warrs in London, and that will be the end of one particular bike in my life.

I have been without a bike here in Turkey.  It is frustrating.  I was looking forward to road trips, local ones, short trips to places like Bodrum, Fethiye, Patara, Aphrodisias, Ayvalıc, and longer trips to the east.  I now have my Residents Permit and Ikamet Number.  I have all the papers I need to purchase a bike here, and in due time I fully intend to do so.

Dreams do not have to end.

6 responses to “Dreams do not have to end

  1. That’s a huge shame. I got on the back of a Harley once and it scared me half to death but what a fabulous machine. Let’s hope you biked up soon but keep an eye out for those scary Turkish drivers!

    • A big loss, but it can be replaced even taking into account the cost of vehicles here. It may take until spring given we have a house to purchase first.

      As to the matter of Turkish drivers, we never really had a problem when we came over on it a couple of years ago, then again we never went into a city larger than Denizli. Riding in Istanbul would be scary. If you want really crazy drivers, try Greece,

  2. As the partner of a bike-lover who has said goodbye to a few – one for the move to the States – I can relate. Just a dumb logistical question, was it just the cost of bringing the Harley here? Or??? In any case, I hope you are off and riding across Anatolia soon!

    • Essentially the cost and / or the regulations. I can get around the cost but this means that after six months the bike must leave Turkey, or I can try to get around the must leave but the cost (even if possible which is doubtful) is prohibitive.
      It appears to be easier to sell in the UK and buy again in Turkey. There seems to be two buying options, the blue plate for foreigners route which reduces the cost (tax) but adds to bureaucracy or simply buying a normally plated bike. I am not sure of all the rules around blue plates for foreigners, this needs further research, whether it is compulsory or not for a start. I am currently leaning towards whichever option will be the least hassle.
      If it all goes to plan we should have a bike by early spring.

  3. A sad time for you but as you said, dreams don’t have to end. Loads of the bikers in Fethiye (the Anatolian Tigers) have some amazing looking bikes so I’m sure you’ll find something to suit to begin your new chapter in biking and continue your adventures.

    We had friends with a BMW car who tried just about everything to get round the 6-month rule. It didn’t work and we ended up in Greece – after the car was refused re-entry to Turkey – with them while they had to sell the car for 100 Euros! They weren’t happy! 🙂

    Julia

Leave a Reply

