Internet Withdrawal

Our internet went down about this time yesterday and we attempted to relearn how to live an Internet free existence.  It is strange how dependent one becomes on having it there at all times.  Something we didn’t enjoy before ‘always on’ broadband.

Major worries that kept Hilary awake last night:

  • How do we do our banking?  We have quite a lot to do this week so, if the Internet doesn’t spontaneously reappear soon, I will be taking the laptop round to a friend’s house and using her wireless to check when the money hits account A so I can move it to account B ready to be put into account C on the designated date (yes, with Turkish time deposit accounts everything has to be moved on the correct day – we are currently just manipulating the funds so that there are in the right places and currencies when that day arrives).
  • How do we get our eagerly awaited  yabanci kimlik numerasi?  Well, hopefully the internet will get restored before that gets on line and, if not, we can take the laptop to our friend’s house or get the Emlak to look it up or go to the nufus office.
  • How do we keep in touch with our Irish friend we’re supposed to be meeting on Thursday?  All messages to date have been via Facebook.  We have each other’s mobile numbers  and I can post her a message when I’m doing the banking.
  • Skype – we may need to phone family from Internet cafes or landline for the duration.
  • How do I access the pictures of another friend’s brand new baby (she’s gorgeous!).

Beyond all that though, I’ve just got used to having all this social networking, all this information at my fingertips.   The news, the weather forecast, recipes, information on more or less everything.  And it’s not there now.  I guess that means we’ll just have to get on with our creative projects, learning Turkish, reading books and being grateful that we bought the G3 model of Kindle.

P.S Our Internet is back now.  I did go round to a friend to do the money transfer I needed to do and make a brief Skype call to mother.  As I thought, the modem had forgotten its user name and password.  These were retrieved (from the incredibly helpful chap who knew them) and input by the incredibly helpful chap in the computer shop.  No charge.  Whilst that was happening the bank called to say some money had mysteriously arrived in our account – it’s now been transferred to somewhere it will earn pretty decent interest (and we have acquired another account).  People here in Turkey are just incredibly helpful.

I hope, though, that we can learn to be less dependent on the Internet for entertainment and the general doing of business.  I was far too upset when it just all disappeared.  Back in the UK, when our TV broke, it took nearly two years for us to notice.

6 responses to “Internet Withdrawal

  1. I always get withdrawal symptoms when I lose my connection. It’s like I’ve been cut off from the rest of the world. We had a 12-hour powercut on Sunday so of course no internet. Mind you…I do manage to get a lot of things done so it has it’s advantages.

  2. Hilary says: Part of my anxiety was that I had broken it by pressing a wrong switch… Which, actually, I think I did. Never press reset is one lesson I learned from this. Also I find the ‘not knowing when it’s going to come back’ difficult (same as when the water went – we now keep enough to hand to flush the toilet). I sometimes wonder how far the Internet is a kind of security blanket for me – coming to live in a different country with a different culture is quite scary, especially on those days when the language feels like an impenetrable barrier.

  3. It’s surprising how dependent we have become on the internet since we moved from Blighty. It’s our window to the world. When we lived in Yakikavak, our connection was up and down like a yo-yo which was very frustrating but since we moved to Bodrum, we hardly get any problems..

  4. Ashley says: I think Hilary is more dependent on the internet than me. She had bad dreams about it and slept poorly, I slept fine. I used the downtime to do some creative stuff on the computer rather than lurking on facebook, live journal, various blogs, BBC News etc. This said, I do agree that a stable internet connection has become one of those expected things in life.

  5. I think the interwebs, (as our young Turkish nephews in residence insist on calling it, some geek-hip thing, I think) are especially important for ex-pats. Here, we joke about taking an email vacation – and some actually do – but it means something else altogether once far away. I was so addicted to my iphone this summer that I almost cried when the bill for $695 appeared after just 7 days away…need to master the art of roaming, plans, etc. In any case…glad it’s back!

  6. Before I retired I had a very computer-heavy job. If I wasn’t in a meeting, I was working on the computer. I’d then come home and be on the Internet all night. Having friends all round the world makes you a bit like that, I guess. A lot of it is general keeping in touch – Facebook lets me keep up with pictures of friends babies in Ireland and in the USA. I’ve never lived in either of those countries – for the past few years we had little face-to-face social life in London. We have more social life here (and we’ve not been over two months yet).
    It does perturb me, though, that so much of my life is online, dependent on a machine (and the networks that keep that machine running). Not sure if I am old enough to qualify as a Silver Surfer – I just took to computers and the internet like a duck to water and I get very perturbed when I can’t get online.
    Fortunately our friend here in Selcuk understands. She let me use her wireless network!
    I’ve managed to avoid smartphones to date but finding it difficult to get used to sharing one computer. I did just manage to get the netbook online so Ashley can watch the football scores whilst I write!

Leave a Reply

