Cold chicken sofrito

This owes a great deal to Claudia Roden’s recipe in A New Book of Middle Eastern Food.  As does a great deal of what I cook… That cookbook was in our hand luggage.

Claudia Roden’s recipe uses a whole chicken and spices we don’t have (and which we can’t get on Selcuk market).  If anyone knows how to get cardamoms in Selcuk, please let us know.  We  had two large chicken biftek  (boneless, skinless thighs) that wanted using.  So here is what I did.

I put the juice of a lemon, salt, pepper, a couple of lightly bruised (and opened) all spice berries (yeni bahar), pinch of jeera (kimyon), some olive oil (not much, the thighs are quite fatty) and a splash of water into a medium sized pan then added the chicken thighs, lying flat.  I put it on very low heat and covered it.  For the next 45 minutes I looked at it from time to time and turned the meat over.  I would have added a bit more water if it looked like boiling dry but it never did.  When I was sure it was fully cooked I put the thighs into a serving dish and poured the liquid over.  It didn’t quite cover them.  I cooled it and put it in the fridge till we were ready to eat.  The liquid made a very edible jelly.  Though when I make it again I will probably try to get a bit more of the fat off before chilling it.

Leave a Reply

